The Week That Was: January 30-February 3

Wellness Goal Achieved!

If you read my recent Focus article, you know that I’m trying to set SMART (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Time Bound) goals this year. As director of the Dental Well Being Foundation, I want to lead by example, and to be honest, I was approaching some health issues. My January goal was to go 30 days without dairy, grains, legumes, alcohol and sugar! Sugar is my baby, so that was especially tough. Plus I had to be at about seven MDA events to attend with open bars, doughnuts, etc. Grace prevailed, and I met my goal! I feel much better and I shed 18 pounds! Now I’m focused on 250,000 steps for my February goal. Enough about me, other than hopefully to motivate you to set some goals. Here’s another inspiring story from a dentist. Stay alert as well. You will be seeing a lot more from the DWBF this year.

image001.jpg

The Office

A fairly calm week here with one big exception. We have finalized the lease with Missouri Nurses Association for the space downstairs! This is a key revenue stream that will help keep member dues down. It’s nice to have another healthcare entity in our space. Things are moving along pretty quickly at this point. We hope to be making changes in the coming several weeks to the space. They will occupy the space on April 1, 2017. Celebrate with us! Vicki and Denise especially did a fine job negotiating and finalizing this important goal.

The Road

We rested our tires this week. Personally, I’m off to Georgia to visit my Dad and help root the Falcons to their first ever Super Bowl victory! I hope everyone enjoys this uniquely American holiday of excess.

image002.png

Beauty and Brains!

I’m lobbying for permission to go interview the new Miss Universe from France since she is promoting oral hygiene. Maybe you could start handing out sashes at your practice?

Next Week

The menu looks exciting with the annual audit, plenty of legislative hearings for Katie and Vicki, the Northwest Dental Society meeting in St. Joe, and an EFDA Restorative Class in Chesterfield led by Dr. Earl Larson.

Fun Fact Friday

More than 5.5 million underserved children have received free oral health services since the GKAS program was launched 15 years ago. Learn more.

Leave a Reply

